Official Leagues

Some leagues in Cricket Championship are run by the game itself rather than being commissioned by individuals. These official leagues differ in some ways from commissioned leagues. They are not, however, any more prestigious: teams gain no more ranking points or match attendances than any other competitions.

Official leagues can have an unlimited number of divisions. This means that any team that applies for a place in an official league is guaranteed to get one (provided the team has not become inactive). If there are insufficient teams for a full bottom division then system managed teams will fill the lowest division so it will always run.

Also, active teams that are entered into an official league are automatically entered into the next run of the league.

Official leagues typically run for the length of a Cricket Championship season with the end of the league coinciding with the end of the season.

Official leagues currently run in Europe (start time 9:30 to 11:30), Oceania (start time 0:00 to 2:00) and Asia (start time 3:00 to 5:00). Other official leagues could be started if there is enough demand.


Each of the official leagues is a "tiered" league. This means that there may be multiple divisions in each tier. There is one division in tier one and one division in tier two but for each extra tier there is more than one division: two divisions in tier 3, three divisions in tier 4, five divisions in tier 5, eight divisions in tier 6 and so on (this is the fibonacci sequence).

The bottom two teams in each division will be relegated one tier lower at the end of the season. The winners of each division will promote to the next tier. Some highest placed second placed teams will also promote: 1 second placed team from tier 2, none from tier 3, 1 from tier 4, 1 from tier 5, 2 from tier 6 etc.

If teams drop out of an official league, because they have either become inactive or because they have entered an alternative league, they will be replaced by another team. The replacement will be the next highest second placed team from the tier below. If there are no remaining second placed teams to promote then the withdrawing team will be replaced by the highest ranked team from: (a) new teams applying to the league, (b) 1st placed teams from two tiers below and (c) 3rd placed teams from the tier below. This means that it is possible for new teams to join a higher tier than the bottom tier and it is also possible for teams to promote two tiers (by winning their tier and having a high rating).

Second teams

It is not possible for two teams run by the same member to compete in the same division. Two teams run by the same person can compete in the same tier and can compete in the same league.

Where two teams run by the same person end up in the same league one of them (chosen randomly) will not be allowed to enter and will be entered into a different division. This may mean they have to drop to a lower tier.

Feeder leagues

In order for new teams to be able to participate in a league various feeder leagues are created for the official leagues. These feeder leagues run for one season only and are scheduled so that the end of the feeder league coincides with the end of the official leagues.

As with the official leagues, the feeder leagues guarantee all teams that apply to play a place in the league. Also, active teams that have played in a finished feeder league are automatically entered into the official league. If there are insufficient applicants for a full feeder league division then system teams will fill the division.

Feeder leagues are provided for new teams but there is no restriction on which teams can enter them. So, if you are entered into a league that finishes midway through a season you can enter a feeder league to ensure your team plays in a competition for the rest of the season.

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more